Tag Archives | Paranormal

Guest Post: Creating an Authentic Historical Atmosphere with Elizabeth May

One of the most challenging aspects of writing historical fiction is building a believable atmosphere that resonates with contemporary readers. What many people don’t realize is that the farther back a book’s historical period goes, the more you might have the same difficulties a fantasy author might: worldbuilding and authenticity – only with the added pressure of being constrained by historical social rules and events. So here are some tips that might help get you […]

1 Comment

Happy Book Birthday to Strange and Ever After by Susan Dennard!

We’re celebrating over here at Pub Crawl. It’s not every day one of our members completes a trilogy, and today, Susan Dennard’s Strange and Ever After, the final installment in the Something Strange and Deadly series, hits shelves! I (Erin) have loved this series since I got my hands on book one ages ago, but I have to admit: Strange and Ever After tops them all. Susan brings Egypt to life with ease (how is she so skilled […]

42 Comments

Interview with Page Morgan, author of The Lovely and the Lost

We’ve had the lovely Page Morgan on the blog before, but I wanted to have her again to celebrate her latest release: The Lovely and the Lost. If you guys haven’t yet read her books, DO. Especially if you’re a fan of my (Sooz’s) books. The Beautiful and the Cursed will totally appeal to fans of Something Strange & Deadly. I mean, just look at those titles together! 😉 For those of you who don’t know the premise: After a […]

13 Comments

Introducing Strange and Ever After!

It’s heeeeeere! PLEASE don’t trample me into the ground as you stampede to check out this gorgeous new cover! Leave me alive and I promise you giveaways later! Be gentle! In fact, we’ll be giving away a copy of Something Strange and Deadly, a copy of A Darkness Strange and Lovely, and a copy of the e-novella A Dawn Most Wicked! Today it is my absolute pleasure to reveal the title AND the cover of the […]

53 Comments

My Favorite Beach/Vacation/Anytime Reads

So, August is now upon us (side note: how is that even possible? If you asked me what month it is, I’d say June). If you’re lucky, you might be heading off on vacation—might have a long weekend to look forward to. Personally, August is a bit of a busy month for me, but I’m still going to try to steal a few days of Me Time, preferably at the beach (what’s the point of […]

13 Comments