Tag Archives | Fantasy

Guest Post: Enjoy the Ride with Matt Myklusch

Like most authors out there, I did a lot of other jobs before I got any work as a writer. I’ve been lucky, because most of those jobs were pretty cool and interesting. Out of college, I worked briefly in the publicity department for Walt Disney Pictures. (My last day there was the NY premiere of the animated film, Tarzan). After that, I worked in the promotions department for Columbia Pictures. I even worked at […]

No Comments

Interview with Sara B Larson, author of DEFY

Welcome, Sara! Defy has such an awesome main character—a tough-as-nails girl disguised as a boy and working within the royal guard. Did the idea for DEFY start with that heroine, or did another part of the story materialize first? (In short: what was the inspiration behind Alexa’s story?) Thank you! Defy actually came from a very difficult period in my life, when I lost someone I loved. I was so upset by his death that I […]

12 Comments

Finishing a Trilogy: Interview with Meagan Spooner, author of Skylark

Today, I’m delighted to have Meagan Spooner back on the blog. The final book in her Skylark trilogy, Lark Ascending, just released last week, and if you haven’t yet read these books, then now’s the time! For one, the books are EXCELLENT (and if you’re a fan of my Something Strange & Deadly, then you’ll definitely love Skylark). For two, the book is only $0.99 on Kindle right now!! For three, just read this summary and tell me […]

8 Comments

Interview with Page Morgan, author of The Lovely and the Lost

We’ve had the lovely Page Morgan on the blog before, but I wanted to have her again to celebrate her latest release: The Lovely and the Lost. If you guys haven’t yet read her books, DO. Especially if you’re a fan of my (Sooz’s) books. The Beautiful and the Cursed will totally appeal to fans of Something Strange & Deadly. I mean, just look at those titles together! 😉 For those of you who don’t know the premise: After a […]

13 Comments

Fictional Reality

My growth as a writer included a phase of what might be termed hyper-realism. Or maybe just plain realism, depending on how you define it. Either way, during this phase, my writing was full of overly detailed description to make sure the reader saw exactly what I saw in my mind. Contrived punctuation abounded in attempt to better mimic a person’s speech. Inner monologues of a character took up pages of space that I considered […]

9 Comments